My Adoption of Digital Technology

>I may not have gone where I intended to go, but I think I have ended up where I intended to be.”  Douglas Adams

My Adoption of Digital Technology.

My parents were a huge positive influence on how I responded to technology.  They always had a positive outlook on technology being a tool. Since childhood, I have embraced technology in the many professional and personal roles I have undertaken. 

In my third year of teaching, I taught Design and Technology to Grade 7/8 students.  Creative Learning Systems designed a program (Lab 2000) where students rotated in triad groupings of technology – teachers acted as facilitators.  The stations ranged from pneumatics, electronics, to computer 3D rendering, webpage design, sound editing, stop motion, and much more.  Apple and Dell Computers were used. Imagine a scaled down, gym sized version of a TechShop*.  Perks included training in California and our own lab.  That was an incredible learning and teaching opportunity, that continues to affect me.

>We live in a society exquisitely dependent on science and technology, in which hardly anyone knows anything about science and technology.”  Carl Sagan

“An important factor regarding the adoption rate of an innovation is its compatibility with the values, beliefs, and past experiences of individuals in the social system. “ Everett Rogers, 2003.

Where I am Currently

When asked to describe my present level of adoption of technology… Where do I stand?  It depends. I do not stand in one place on this continuum of adoption though there are patterns.

In my personal life, I find my stance on the adoption of digital technology the most variable. From the ideas of Everett Rogers in “Diffusion of Innovations” (2003), I would classify myself as – most of the above – from “Early adopter” to “Laggard” depending on the technology.

screenshot_01

>The true delight is in the finding out rather than in the knowing.” Isaac Asimov

Working through the Innovation Process

process of adoption

 I choose to explore new things building my own knowledge.  When I hear about online resources that might be of use, I like to check them out. When they pass scrutiny and are compatible with what I am looking for, and will work for me, I am likely to adopt them. Current advancements such as ITunes U, Google Scholar, Youtube, and options such as being able to do my Masters of Education online, open more doors to make this possible.

>“Somewhere, something incredible is waiting to be known.” Carl Sagan

 In the same way that I can choose what I want to learn, I choose not to learn about certain things as well… such as the TV controls.  If I see a need, then I will learn. I do not want to spend time learning and using Facebook – as I like my privacy.  Rejection is not always permanent if the technology becomes pertinent.

 Generally, if technology is expensive, I am reluctant to purchase early on – I would rather find out more about it, and determine if the tool will be of sufficient value and adopt it later.  I choose to research about 3D printers rather than buy one right now, because I do not want to spend the money on it – I think it will be a “windloss” (Rogers, 2003).  The 3D printer sells for thousands of dollars today, it will soon sell for much less.  I am lucky to have the opportunity to choose the technology I want to pursue.

 There will always be technologies that I do not understand – I feel is more a product of time and inclination than anything else.

>It is not the strongest of the species that survives, nor the most intelligent that survives. It is the one that is the most adaptable to change.” Charles Darwin

In my Professional Life, with respect to technology adoption, I am in the stages of “Early Adopter” to “Early Majority” (Rogers, 2003) – though perhaps this is more a trend of what is happening in our schools than the global professional market.  I find that while I am working through the stages of adoption process (Rogers, 2003), I am utilizing the current available technology my school board provides, I am often trying to diffuse information – sharing ideas and applications of technology with my peers. 

 “More than anything else, it was the social power of peers talking to peers about the innovation that led to adoption of the new idea.” Everett Rogers, 2003.

 At times, I would like to be able to reject platforms such as the report card and IEP data bases, I am expected to work through the inadequacies of the formats (continued adoption).

From my UOIT peers, I first learned about the TP(A)CK and SAMR models, and later uncovered more from the lectures of Dr. Ruben Puentedura – who in his iTunes U presentations, has outlined a more in depth view of these models.  In looking at the Puentedura’s SAMR model, and his discussions, I am able to touch upon all levels of the scale in my teaching, though I would like to do this more consciously.

applying_the_samr_model

/>

 My Target Level

 When I started my masters, I had no idea what I wanted to pursue, though assistive technology and gaming were areas of interest, as both are generally not well received in schools.  For this assignment, I will talk about Gaming in Education.

 Our (excellent) classroom presentations and the opportunity to research the ideas of Everett Rogers, Kurt Lewin, Puentedura, and the creators of the TPCK model, has given me more insight into what I want to target.

force_field_analysistpack image

Ideally, I would like to be able to hit the ‘bullseye’ of the TPAK model – effectively applying Technological, Pedagogical Content and Knowledge to my teaching.  I find that our school district seems to focus on Pedagogical Content and Knowledge as do most of my peers. The iTunes U podcast by Ruben Puentedura (2003) has given me some ideas.  Although this is an older resource, I still think that it is a good place to start.  As well – our school board has recently asked for suggestions to use technology in our school – I have proposed some studies of educational games to improve problem solving.  This has not been approved at this point – stay tuned.

 I am not sure where this will lead, but I am intrigued, and guaranteed to learn more about gaming in education.  It should be a fun learning experience!

>;You can’t help getting older, but you don’t have to get old.” George Burns

References

 Covey, S. (1997). Work it out together. Incentive, 171(4), 26-26. Retrieved from http://search.proquest.com.uproxy.library.dc-uoit.ca/docview/225371913?accountid=14694

 Jagoe, Colin, YouTube (2011). Force Field Analysis. [online] Retrieved from: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hBycYu7T5WY [Accessed: 24 Feb, 2013]..

 Kruglanski, A. W., Bélanger, J. J., Chen, X., Köpetz, C., Pierro, A., & Mannetti, L. (2012). The energetics of motivated cognition: A force-field analysis. Psychological Review, 119(1), 1-20. doi: http://dx.doi.org/10.1037/a0025488

 People.ucalgary.ca (1998). THE UNIVERSITY OF CALGARY. [online] Retrieved from: http://people.ucalgary.ca/~dmjacobs/phd/diss/chapter_2.html [Accessed: 1,Mar 2013].

 Puentedura, Ruben, iTunes (n.d.). TPCK and SAMR: Models for Enhancing Technology Integration –  As We May Teach: Educational Technology, From Theory Into Practice. [online] Retrieved from: https://itunes.apple.com/us/itunes-u/as-we-may-teach-educational/id380294705 [Accessed: 25 Feb 2013].

 Puentedura, Ruben, iTunes (2003). TPCK, SAMR, And Games – Game And Learn: An Introduction to Educational Gaming – Audio/video. [online] Retrieved from: https://itunes.apple.com/us/itunes-u/game-learn-introduction-to/id429426265 [Accessed: 25 Feb 2013]

 Rogers, E. M. (2003). Diffusion of innovations. New York: Free Press.

 Images

 The TPACK Image “Reproduced by permission of the publisher, © 2012 by tpack.org”

 A Model of Stages in the Innovation-Decision Process (Rogers, 1995)

 Technology discussed on SAMR diagram

 Google Art Project –  http://www.googleartproject.com,  Flow, the Art Zone-  http://www.nga.gov/kids/zone/zone.htm,  Sumopaint – http://www.sumopaint.com/www/,  The Artchive- http://www.artchive.com

 *********

*TechShop Detroit – Allen Park  http://www.techshop.ws

“TechShop is a playground for creativity. Part fabrication and prototyping studio, part hackerspace and part learning center, TechShop provides access to over $1 million worth of professional equipment and software.”” TechShop is a community based workshop and prototyping studio on a mission to democratize access to the tools of innovation. This brand new location is packed with cutting-edge tools, equipment, and computers loaded with design software featuring the Autodesk Design Suite. Most importantly, TechShop offers space to make, and the support and camaraderie of a community of makers.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

