Dips on the road – Learning to drive a standard vehicle

The Implementation Dip…

         Having read through the blogs of my peers, I am ‘glad’ to hear that taking the Masters Program was part of an Implementation Dip for some, as was the adoption of the smart phone.  Misery likes company I guess.   

 

Dips on the road – Learning to drive a standard vehicle

         Having been an east end Toronto girl – I never drove.  Throughout my high school and university days – I took the TTC everywhere or got drives from friends or family as needed.  When I got my first job as a junior archaeologist in a consulting firm in Toronto, it was better not to be able to drive, silly though that might sound.  We made hardly any money, and one of my co-workers, the only one who had a car, was expected to drive us to different locations to work.  Sometimes we had to pay him gas money to get to places.  The things you do when you are excited to be ‘real’ but quite poor archaeologists. 

         Years later, after my husband and I got elementary jobs teaching east of Toronto, I needed to get my license.  Our first non-automatic vehicle was a Suzuki sidekick.  I remember it well… the Implementation dip…  the anxiety of hills, the stalling, the fact that I was in my mid 20s and was just getting my license, the practice nights after work, the self coaching… etc….  My husband was terrific through it all, and was greatly supportive.  I had to drive it everyday after I dropped him off at work, so I got quite proficient at it.  We have automatic vehicles now though 🙂

The Implementation dip of students

The video that Francois made on Implementation Dip… has had me thinking more about the implementation dips of my students as they learn new technology, especially those that experience learning disabilities. 

Sometimes the anxiety is so great for them that they are not able to step forward and achieve what they know and have seen will improve their performance.  I am thinking of one student in grade 6, who is very reluctant to use any assistive technology on the computer even though he has been shown and has had a chance to see what it will do for him once he masters this skill.  Dragon and Premier are not very easy programs for young students – but they are free for students to use in school.  Premier is available to take home, but it is unlikely in my area that the families of my students would know how to set this up or get it moving.    I have been trying to get him to use his iPod touch more for these purposes and he seems to embrace this technology better. 

         So… it got me thinking about how different people of all ages cope with their anxieties to get through the deconstruction stage to get into the transformation phase.  

I was also thinking about the differences between imposed learning situations and those that are self-directed. 

Lots of pondering…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dips on the road – Learning to drive a standard vehicle

  1. I so relate to your memories of the implementation dip of driving a standard. My first car was a standard and I was terrified driving it off the lot!

    I find that whenever I’m in the implementation stage – regardless of what it is I’m trying to learn – that getting out of it is always a cognitive task process that requires focus, repetition and time on task. I know that I’ve survived the dip when the new skill has become associative and no longer cognitive…. like when driving a standard becomes so common place that it feels automatic.

  2. thomasjoyceb says:

    You braved a standard vehicle and survived. Learning to drive the standard was imposed upon you to survive and get to work. I believe the anxiety comes because we know we have to continuously learn in order to survive in society. Once your student realizes the assistive technology will help him to be successful in high school and post-secondary education, he will embrace the challenge of learning the software.

  3. sashagoel says:

    I actually had the same feeling when I bought my first motorcycle…all I have ever driven have been automatic cars. Learning the concept of clutch was something so new and foreign to me, I was nervous about stalling the bike at a stop sign! Like you said though, I had to get over my anxiety and I guess this is a process that takes some time. Of course now, I don’t even give it a second thought:) Sometimes we have to deconstruct in order to construct, but as we all know, it’s never easy….

Leave a Reply

